Hayward Award

2011 – Raymond J. Hall

2010 – Marilyn Friesen, PhD., CSP

2009 – George Hayward

The 2011 recipient of the George Hayward CPMR Champion Award is Raymond J. Hall.  During Ray’s tenure as CEO of the Electronics Representatives Association (ERA)  he was the leader in creating the Foundation and encouraging the development of a professional designation for the representative community.  The result of that leadership was the establishment of the CPMR® program.

The 2010 recipient of the George Hayward CPMR Champion Trophy is Dr. Marilyn Friesen, CSP. Marilyn founded MRERF as her doctoral dissertation in 1984. For 22 years she worked tirelessly to help reps help themselves through the CPMR program. Surprised. Humbled. Speechless. Marilyn appreciates all the reps that made her accomplishments possible.

This award was established April 28, 2009 by the Manufacturers’ Representatives Educational Research Foundation (MRERF) called The George Hayward CPMR Champion Trophy.

This award was created to acknowledge and honor the passion and persistence that George Hayward displayed during the development of the Certified Professional Manufacturers’ Representative (CPMR) designation. George coined the term “CPMR Champion” for those people he felt were true believers in the importance of education and certification for manufacturers’ representatives. This perpetual trophy will  be awarded to future CPMR Champions who follow in George’s footsteps.

The dedication on the back of the trophy reads: “Being an advocate for CPMR was not good enough for George Hayward. George persisted until your level of activity rose to meet his standard. Only then, would George acknowledge you as a CPMR CHAMPION. George Hayward recruited and cultivated CPMR CHAMPIONS around the world culminating in the adoption of CPMR as the educational standard for Reps in Europe and South America under his leadership at IUCAB, the International Union of Commercial Agents and Brokers. In honor of George Hayward’s passion and dedication to advancing CPMR certification, this trophy is dedicated to George and to future CPMR CHAMPIONS.”

George was presented the award as the first recipient of the George Hayward CPMR Champion Trophy by MRERF Board Chair, Tom Wilson, CPMR, CSP in Cincinnati, Ohio on April 28, 2009.

Great Move! George has helped the rep profession tremendoulsy over the years!
Vinny Matteis, CPMR – Amval Associates

Great move for a great guy!
Jim Tumpane, CPMR – Fleming Safety
Lombard, IL

Very nice touch for a great man.
Doug Kammerer, CPMR – Kammerer Sales
Cincinnati, OH